Home News DTSG To Partner With Private Sector On Waste Management

DTSG To Partner With Private Sector On Waste Management

by blcknyt1511

The Delta state Government is to partner with the private sector in other to ensure that disposal of waste in the state is properly handled.

The Secretary to the Delta state Government (SSG), Mr. Chiedu Ebie made this known when he inaugurated a committee on private sector partnership (PSP) in refuse disposal in the conference hall of the office of the SSG.

He said the state government was desirous in ensuring that waste generated in the state was properly disposed according to international standards hence his Excellency Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa approved the constitution of the committee to see how the PSP in the state could be strengthened for optimal performance

The SSG who stated the terms of reference of the Committee to include, the development of a legal and institutional framework for smooth operation of private sector participation in refuse disposal in the state, to design a private sector participation model suitable for operation in the state and lastly, to make any other recommendations that will ensure effective participation of private sector in the disposal of refuge in the state.

Mr Ebie said the committee had eight weeks to submit its report.

The chairman of the committee and Commissioner for environment Mr. Chris Onogba on behalf of other committee members thanked the State Government for finding them worthy to be appointed into the committee while promising that members of the committee would deliver on the terms of reference given to the committee and that they would work within the time frame of eight weeks to deliver their report.

The members of the committee on private sector partnership in refuse disposal inaugurated by the SSG are;

Mr. Chris Onogba, Commissioner for Environment Chairman, Dr. Barry Pere Gbe, Commissioner for Economic Planning, member, Dr. Kingsley Emu, Chief Economic Adviser, member, Mrs. Joan Onyemaechi Mrakpor, Director General Delta State Capital Territory Development Agency, member, Honorable Itiako Ikpokpo, Delta state ALGON Chairman, member, Barr. Victor Ebonka, Delta State ALGON Secretary, member, Representative of Hon. Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, member while the Secretary of the Committee is Mr. Precious Anukwu Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Environment.

You may also like